While the MOU Saga continues (Argh!), I decided to take the opportunity to do some other things I have been meaning to get to. The first is to get a Kenyan ID card. Kenyans get them when they begin voting at 18 and since I left before then, I have never had one (We don't do absentee voting yet). What an adventure it turned out to be.
The country is divided in an array of administrative units and there are Chiefs and Assistant Chiefs that govern certain areas. I began at the Assistant Chief's office. I had to get him to sign a letter explaining why I don't have an ID yet (The letter said I didn't have one because of "Ignorance"). From there I headed to another office to get the form to apply for the ID. Once I filled that out, I then had to get the Chief to sign it (I realized at this late juncture that I could have consulted a cousin of mine who happens to be a Chief. Word is that she is fierce!). Once he signed it, I joined yet another line to have yet another form filled out. Then I needed all my fingerprints taken. Twice. Using the good old-fashioned ink. This step was of course accompanied by another form. By the time I got to the final step, getting my picture taken, it had been four hours since I started the process.
Now, I wait for two months. My goal is to have some pictures posted by then :)
No comments:
Post a Comment